Home Music Buzz Listen To Rodrigo Y Gabriela’s New ‘Mettavolution’ Album Ahead Of Release

Listen To Rodrigo Y Gabriela’s New ‘Mettavolution’ Album Ahead Of Release


Nuevo Flamenco guitar duo Rodrigo Y Gabriela are gearing up for their forthcoming studio album release, Mettavolution, due out on April 26th via ATO Records.

Three years in the making, and five years since their last album, 9 Dead Alive, the Mexican acoustic rock duo’s new album features a nearly-19-minute take on “Echoes”, a cover of the Pink Floyd Meddle track, which takes up the entire second half of the seven-song album.

Mettavolution brings together Rod and Gab’s passionate interest in Buddhism, the history of human evolution and the liberation of the potential we have as a species,” a press release explains about the new album, “all expressed through the medium of two acoustic guitars.”

The new album was conceived and composed in their studio in Ixtapa on the Mexican Pacific Coast, then road-tested and tweaked throughout the last two years of touring in South America, the U.S., and Australia. In addition to their Pink Floyd arrangement, the rest of the material is made up of six original Rodrigo y Gabriela compositions.

Ahead of the album’s April 26th release, NPR Music‘s First Listen series has premiered Mettavolution, which you can stream here.

The two will hit the road for a run of global concert dates this spring beginning on April 13th in Munich. The North American leg of their 2019 tour is scheduled to start on May 4th in Austin, TX, and continues into the summer months before wrapping on July 9th with a performance in Bayfield, WI. Fans can head over to Rodrigo Y Gabriela’s website for more ticket info to all of their upcoming shows.

Rodrigo Y Gabriela 2019 Tour Dates:

13 – Munich, GERMANY – Technikum
15 – Berlin, GERMANY – Columbia Theater
17 – Bourges, FRANCE – Printemps de Bourges
18 – Luxembourg City, LUXEMBOURG – den Atelier
19 – Brussels, BELGIUM – Cirque Royal
21 – Dublin, IRELAND – Olympia Theatre
24 – London, ENGLAND – Roundhouse
25 – Paris, FRANCE – L’Olympia
27 – Chamonix, FRANCE – Musilac Mont Blanc *

4 – Austin, TX – ACL Live at the Moody Theater
5 – Memphis, TN – Beale Street Music Festival *
15 – Boston, MA – Orpheum Theatre
17 – Philadelphia, PA – Franklin Music Hall
18 – New York, NY – Beacon Theatre
23 – Detroit, MI – The Fillmore Detroit
24 – Chicago, IL – The Chicago Theatre

1 – Atlanta, GA – Fox Theatre
2 – Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium
4 – Wilmington, NC – Greenfield Lake Amphitheatre
5 – Charlottesville, VA – Sprint Pavilion
7 – Vienna, VA – Wolf Trap Filene Center
8 – Cleveland, OH – LaureLive *
9 – Grand Rapids, MI – Frederik Meijer Gardens Amphitheater

3 – Montreal Jazz Fest – Montreal, Canada *
5 – Ottawa Bluesfest – Ottawa, ON *
9 – Lake Superior Big Top Chautauqua – Bayfield, WI
13 – Chateau Ste. Michelle Winery – Woodinville, WA
14 – Vancouver, BC – Vogue Theater
16 – Troutdale, OR – Edgefield Amphitheater
18 – Jacksonville, OR – Britt Pavillion
21 – Saratoga, CA – The Mountain Winery
23 – Los Angeles, CA – The Greek Theater
26 – Reno, NV – Harrah’s Reno, The Plaza
28 – Denver, CO – Denver Botanic Gardens


View Tour Dates

The post Listen To Rodrigo Y Gabriela’s New ‘Mettavolution’ Album Ahead Of Release appeared first on L4LM.