Home Jambase Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway Announce New Album ‘Crooked Tree’ & Share...

Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway Announce New Album ‘Crooked Tree’ & Share Title Track


Molly Tuttle and her new bluegrass collective Golden Highway will issue a new album, Crooked Tree, via Nonesuch Records on April 1. The singer-songwriter and guitarist also shared the LP’s title track along with a performance video.

Molly Tuttle teamed with bluegrass legend Jerry Douglas to co-produce Crooked Tree, her Nonesuch debut, recorded at Nashville’s Oceanway Studios. The LP boasts an impressive list of special guests including Sierra Hull, Old Crow Medicine Show, Margo Price, Billy Strings, Dan Tyminski and Gillian Welch. Crooked Tree also features contributions from Golden Highway members fiddler Bronwyn Keith-Hynes and mandolinist Dominick Leslie along with renowned musicians Darol Anger (fiddle), Ron Block (banjo), Mike Bub (upright bass), Jason Carter (fiddle), Viktor Krauss (upright bass), Todd Phillips (upright bass) and Christian Sedelmyer (fiddle) as well as additional harmony vocals from Tina Adair, Lindsay Lou and Melody Walker.

Molly discovered bluegrass through her father and grandfather, who are both musicians. The singer-songwriter and guitarist explores her love of the genre on Crooked Tree.

“I always knew I wanted to make a bluegrass record someday,” Tuttle said in a press release. “Once I started writing, everything flowed so easily: sometimes I’ve felt an internal pressure to come up with a sound no one’s heard before, but this time my intention was just to make an album that reflected the music that’s been passed down through generations in my family. I found a way to do that while writing songs that feel true to who I am, and it really helped me to grow as a songwriter.”

Tuttle’s Golden Highway touring outfit — Keith-Hynes, Leslie, bassist Shelby Means and banjo player Kyle Tuttle — are embarking on an extensive winter tour tonight with two nights in Seattle before visiting Molly’s native California ahead of runs through Colorado, the Midwest and the South. For a preview of the band, check out Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway’s performance video of Crooked Tree‘s title track below:

Crooked Tree Studio Version

Crooked Tree Tracklist:

  1. She’ll Change
  2. Flatland Girl feat. Margo Price
  3. Dooley’s Farm feat. Billy Strings
  4. Big Backyard feat. Old Crow Medicine Show
  5. Crooked Tree
  6. Castilleja
  7. The River Knows
  8. Over the Line feat. Sierra Hull
  9. Nashville Mess Around
  10. San Francisco Blues feat. Dan Tyminski
  11. Goodbye Girl
  12. Side Saddle feat. Gillian Welch
  13. Grass Valley

Source: JamBase.com