Home Jambase The Who Busts Out ‘Let My Love Open The Door’ At Royal...

The Who Busts Out ‘Let My Love Open The Door’ At Royal Albert Hall


The Who performed their first concert since early 2020 at London’s Royal Albert Hall on Friday as part of frontman Roger Daltrey‘s annual Teenage Cancer Trust benefit concerts. The legendary rockers delivered the show in an acoustic format with a stripped-down band and busted out a number of songs including guitarist Pete Townshend‘s solo cut “Let My Love Open The Door” for the first time since 1989.

The show also marked 60 years since Daltrey and Townshend began performing together in the group The Detours. The longtime friends and collaborators led their band through “Substitute” to kick off the concert, which carried a very laid back air with Roger and Pete telling stories and restarting songs, including the next tune, “Squeeze Box.” “The Kids Are Alright” was also restarted and included a longer reprise. The band then offered The Who Sells Out cut “Tattoo” ahead of the Who’s Next classic “Behind Blue Eyes.”

The Who then delivered the first “Real Good Looking Boy” since 2008, as per SetlistFM. The song was one of two new tracks on the band’s 2004 greatest hits album Then And Now. Pete and Roger then turned to material from their 2019 album WHO beginning with two performances of “Break The News” as Daltrey wasn’t feeling the first play. WHO’s “She Rocked My World” and “Beads On One String,” the latter a live debut in support of Ukraine with the Ukrainian flag appearing on screens behind the band.

Roger Daltrey then sang lead vocals on “Eminence Front,” historically sung by Townshend. The band then offered up favorties in Tommy’s “Pinball Wizard” and the Keith Moon-inspired “Who Are You.” Pete then prefaced the bust out of “Let My Love Open The Door” by saying, “This next song is definitely not a Who hit…It’s a Pete hit,” which got a rise out of the audience. Townshend then got the band into the song off his 1980 solo album Empty Glass, sung by Daltrey. The Who would close out the concert with a pair of classics, “Baba O’Riley” and “Won’t Get Fooled Again,” the latter with just Pete and Roger.

Watch fan-shot video of “Let My Love Open The Door” and more below:


The Who at Royal Albert Hall

  • Substitute
  • Squeeze Box  
  • The Kids Are Alright  
  • Tattoo
  • Behind Blue Eyes
  • Real Good Looking Boy  
  • Break the News
  • Break the News  
  • She Rocked My World
  • Beads on One String  
  • Eminence Front  
  • Pinball Wizard
  • Who Are You
  • Let My Love Open the Door  
  • Baba O’Riley
  • Won’t Get Fooled Again  

Source: JamBase.com