Home Music Trey Anastasio Releases ‘TAB At The Fox Theater’ Live Album

Trey Anastasio Releases ‘TAB At The Fox Theater’ Live Album


Phish frontman Trey Anastasio ended what currently stands as the latest Trey Anastasio Band tour with two nights at the Fox Theater in Oakland on November 3 and 4, 2017. Official recordings of the shows have been remastered and released for streaming via Spotify. TAB’s lineup at the time featured Trey joined by bassist Tony Markellis, drummer Russ Lawton, keyboardist Ray Paczkowski, percussionist Cyro Baptista and a horn/backing vocalist section of Jennifer Hartswick, Natalie Cressman and James Casey.

2017 was a busy year for the Trey Anastasio Band, at least in comparison to other years of TAB. As such, the band was hot by the time their fall tour ended in the Bay Area. TAB performed 44 different songs over the course of the two nights that included selections from each phase of the guitarist’s solo career. Anastasio’s early days with Markellis and Lawton were represented by such staples as “Sand,” “First Tube,” “Last Tube” and “Gotta Jibboo.” TAB added a horn section in 2001 and “The Way I Feel,” “Alive Again,” “Cayman Review” and “Simple Twist Up Dave” were among tunes from that pivotal year played in Oakland.

The career-spanning mix of material also included “Curlew’s Call,” debuted in 2002, “Spin” and “Dark & Down” from the mid ’00s and “Liquid Time,” “Ocelot” and “Alaska” from the late ’00s. “Burn That Bridge,” “Land Of Nod,” “Architect” and “Valentine” represented the early ’10s, while a number of songs from 2015’s Paper Wheels made the setlists in Oakland. There was also recent tunes “Everything’s Right,” “Rise/Come Together,” “Set Your Soul Free” and “Soul Planet.” Cover-wise, TAB played Ana Tijoux’s “1977,” Gorillaz’s “Clint Eastwood” and Led Zeppelin’s “Dazed & Confused.”

“I’m really just buzzing with excitement to be playing music with that group of people. It’s such a slamming band, and it’s really a joy playing together, I’m sure that’s tangible if you’re in the audience,” Anastasio told JamBase before the tour and TAB At The Fox Theater gives listeners that feeling of joy. Listen to the 44 songs from both nights at the Fox below:

TAB At The Fox Theater Tracklist

  1. First Tube
  2. Everything’s Right
  3. Curlew’s Call
  4. Drifting
  5. Magilla
  6. Tube Top Flop
  7. Pigtail
  8. Money Love & Change
  9. Mozambique
  10. Gotta Jibboo
  11. Liquid Time
  12. Set Your Soul Free
  13. Night Speaks To A Woman
  14. 1977
  15. Burlap Sack & Pumps
  16. Alaska
  17. Clint Eastwood
  18. Valentine
  19. Tuesday
  20. Ether Sunday
  21. Bounce
  22. Sometime After Sunset
  23. Alive Again
  24. Speak To Me
  25. Cayman Review
  26. The Way I Feel
  27. Sweet Dreams Melinda
  28. Burn That Bridge
  29. Tide Turns
  30. Ocelot
  31. The Land Of Nod
  32. Dark & Down
  33. Sand
  34. Last Tube
  35. Spin
  36. Shine
  37. Rise/Come Together
  38. Simple Twist Up Dave
  39. In Rounds
  40. Architect
  41. Dazed & Confused
  42. Push On Til The Day
  43. Heavy Things
  44. Soul Planet