Home Jambase Ozzy Osbourne Announces New Album ‘Patient Number 9’ & Shares Single

Ozzy Osbourne Announces New Album ‘Patient Number 9’ & Shares Single


Ozzy Osbourne announced a new album, Patient Number 9, due out on September 9 via Epic and featuring Black Sabbath‘s Tony Iommi, Eric Clapton, the late Taylor Hawkins and many more. Ozzy also shared the title track which boasts a guest spot from guitarist Jeff Beck.

Iconic rocker Ozzy Osbourne recently underwent a major surgery that his wife Sharon said would “determine the rest of his life.” The Iron Man seems to be on the road to recovery, recently tweeting:

“I am now home from the hospital recuperating comfortably. I am definitely feeling the love and support from all my fans and send everyone a big thank you for their thoughts, prayers and well wishes during my recovery.”

Helping Ozzy recover is his new star-studded album Patient Number 9, the follow up to his 2020 LP Ordinary Man. Osbourne detailed the new record in a Q&A posted to his website:

“My last album (Ordinary Man) was released just a few weeks before the pandemic started, and I was just about getting ready to go into the studio to work on this new one when the world shut down,” he said. “It’s no secret that the last four years have been very difficult for me but making this album took my mind off of my problems.”

Ozzy teamed back up with Andrew Watt, who worked on Ordinary Man, to produce Patient Number 9. The album features an impressive list of guests including Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready, Red Hot Chili Pepper’s Chad Smith, Metallica’s Robert Trujillo, Guns N Roses’ Duff McKagan, Alice in Chains’ Chris Chaney and a posthumous appearance by late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins.

Osbourne’s longtime guitarist Zakk Wylde returned to play throughout the album and his Black Sabbath bandmate Tony Iommi also makes a guest appearance on “Degradation Rules,” marking the first time Tony has played on an Ozzy Osbourne solo record.

“It was really great working with Tony,” Ozzy said. “He’s the riff master. No one can touch him in that respect. I only wish we had these songs for Black Sabbath’s 13 album.”

Osbourne also spoke about Patient Number 9’s title and opening track as well as working with Jeff Beck. “The song is about a mental institution. Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honor. There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient Number 9’ is just jaw-dropping.”

“Patient Number 9” arrived along with a Todd McFarlane-directed music video which also features some of Ozzy’s original artwork for the first time in one of his videos. Watch it below:

Patient Number 9 Tracklist:

  1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
  2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
  3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  4. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  5. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
  6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
  7. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
  8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
  11. Dead and Gone
  12. God Only Knows
  13. Darkside Blues

Source: JamBase.com