Home Jambase Trey Anastasio Band Debuts New Song At The Capitol Theatre

Trey Anastasio Band Debuts New Song At The Capitol Theatre


Trey Anastasio Band wrapped up their two-night stand at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York on Saturday night. Trey Anastasio unveiled a brand new song for the Cap audience halfway through the first set.

Trey and company kicked things off by returning to “Everything’s Right.” TAB debuted the song at The Capitol Theatre on April 14, 2017. Next up, the crowd favorite “Cayman Review” followed by a cover of zydeco master Chris Ardoin with “Acting The Devil,” another song TAB has played since 2001 but one they hadn’t busted out since May 6, 2017. The classics kept coming with “Alive Again,” which saw some vibey soloing from Trey followed by some punchy Hammond organ riffing from keyboardist Ray Paczkowski, before Paper Wheels track “Sometime After Sunset.”

The debut of brand new tune, “Silver Light,” came next. While two TAB debuts of original songs came during the Cap opener the night before in “Sigma Oasis” and “Love Is What We Are,” “Sigma” was originally debuted by Trey solo acoustic in Boulder, Colorado on December 15, 2018 while Phish debuted “Love Is What We Are” at Chicago’s Northerly Island on July 14, 2017. So “Silver Light” represented the only true original debut of the weekend. The instrumental “Mozambique” followed ahead of “Ocelot” and another oldie but goodie in “Curlew’s Call.” Trey would close out the first frame with “Rise/Come Together,” a song TAB had not played since a stellar version with Derek Trucks on guitar and Susan Tedeschi on vocals at Lockn’ 2019.

The staple “Burlap Sack And Pumps” got the second set underway followed by the Phish rocker “46 Days.” TAB played the song consistently throughout 2005 and 2006 but it saw a 10-year TAB absence until recently being thrown back into the rotation in 2017. The instrumental “Magilla” followed. The Page McConnell-composed jazz number appeared on Phish’s 1992 album A Picture Of Nectar and featured in Phish shows heavily in the early 1990s but tapered off until it’s last Phish play in 2003. But Trey put it on his 2003 album Plasma and it has appeared regularly on TAB setlists since 2010 and always gives the horn section — trumpet player Jennifer Hartswick, trombonist Natalie Cressman and saxophonist James Casey — as well as drummer Russ Lawton a little time to stretch out.

The groovy “Sand” came next ahead of Ghosts Of The Forest ballad “A Life Beyond The Dream.” “Liquid Time,” a song that saw a two-year absence but made a resurgence in 2019, came next ahead of the Farmhouse tune “Heavy Things.” Trey then busted out the title track to his 2012 album Traveler for the first time in a little over four years (last time played on November 1, 2015). “Traveler” led into “Mr. Completely” which in turn led into “Dark And Down.” TAB punctuated the second set with the classic closer “First Tube.” Trey and company retook the stage for an encore of the Ghosts Of The Forest track “Brief Time” followed by another vintage closer in “Push On ‘Til The Day.”

Check out video from the show below:

Alive Again via jackstrawfromwichita

Magilla via Matt Frazier

Sand via rdeal1999

A Life Beyond The Dream via jackstrawfromwichita

Push On ‘Til The Day via rdeal1999

Setlist via Phish.net:

Soundcheck: The Landlady (this soundcheck is likely incomplete)

Set One: Everything’s Right, Cayman Review, Acting the Devil, Alive Again, Sometime After Sunset, Silver Light[1], Mozambique, Ocelot, Curlew’s Call, Rise/Come Together

Set Two: Burlap Sack and Pumps, 46 Days, Magilla, Sand, A Life Beyond The Dream, Liquid Time, Heavy Things, Traveler > Mr. Completely > Dark and Down, First Tube

Encore: Brief Time, Push On ‘Til the Day


[1] Debut.